2019 polls: Buhari emerges winner

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), following collation of results of 23rd presidential election declared the All Progressive Congress candidate, incumbent president, Mohammadu Buhari winner.
Professor Mohmood Yakubu makes the announcement in the early hours of Wednesday, 17th February, 2019 after four days of collations. President Buhari defeated his major contender the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar and other presidential candidates with over 15,191,847 votes, winning 19 of the 36 states.
Based on INEC’s figures, President Muhammadu Buhari and his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC), Nigeria’s ruling party, defeated Atiku Abubakar and his party, the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 11, 262, 978, with a margin of 3,928,869 in Nigeria’s presidential election. Nigerians voted from a list of seventy-two (72) Presidential candidates and 6,584 National Assembly candidates.
Ninety-one (91) political parties are participating in the 2019 general elections; however, some did not filled in candidates for the position of the president, while others endorsed candidates of the PDP and APC. Before the presidential election, figures released by INEC, recorded 84,004,084 registered voters compared to 67,422,005 in the 2015 elections. However, not all registered voter came out and vote.
Below are the Presidential election results recorded in each state as announced by INEC, the only body recognized by law to declare election results.